Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Amenemhab speaks
10-09-2017, 06:47 AM (This post was last modified: 10-09-2017 06:48 AM by Amememhab.)
Wink Amenemhab speaks
The Blog Threads subforum seems a good place to put a personal introduction, as no one’s done so in the Introductions section for nearly two months—and this bulletin board has nearly 6000 registered users, meaning it’s getting a new registration nearly every day.

I am a semi-disabled male aged 53, from Utah, USA. I have some knowledge of biblical, Protestant Christianity and a history of churchgoing, but do not consider myself religious. I’m not here to ram the gospel down anyone’s throat. The world is filled with evangelists who do that.

At the same time, any admission of sympathy for this belief system on a forum of this kind usually brings a cloud of Richard Dawkins acolytes who descend like flies to inform you how ignorant you are. Please, not with me. I’ve heard most of the arguments for and against Christianity and weighed the relative merits of each. Is Bishop Desmond Tutu really an uneducated redneck showing no tolerance toward anyone who doesn’t take the Anglican communion?

I hope to find engaging discussions but prefer not to thrash the timeworn morality and creation versus evolution debates that clog the European and North American political landscapes. I’ll let Bill Maher duke it out with Andrew Schlafly on TV.

Which should about wrap it up. Although I may post further commentary on this thread, I think I will spend my first week here mostly reading other users’ posts to learn who’s who. Seems there are quite a few old timers, of the kind who tend dominate the board and take a proprietary interest in it—perfectly legitimate, as they’re usually the ones paying to run a forum. I haven’t given this forum a dime and probably never will, as my money resources are limited.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2017, 09:48 AM
RE: Amenemhab speaks