Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
God as Distinct
07-13-2013, 11:10 AM
God as Distinct
Hi all
I'm just learning my way around so if this has been raised elsewhere, someone please feel free to point me to it.

Our language for God tends to make God separate from us/the world. Even religions that envision God in various aspects, rather than monotheism's "one God", anthropomorphize those aspects.

As a consequence, we use language like "spiritual journey", or "destination" to describe our relationship, or hoped for relationship, with God.

What impact on your perspective would it have to eliminate all reference to God as distinct from us/the world and to consider oneness as a current, and constant, state?

Thanks for any thoughts
David
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2013, 02:51 PM
RE: God as Distinct
(07-13-2013 11:10 AM)davek121 Wrote:  Hi all
I'm just learning my way around so if this has been raised elsewhere, someone please feel free to point me to it.
Our language for God tends to make God separate from us/the world. Even religions that envision God in various aspects, rather than monotheism's "one God", anthropomorphize those aspects.
As a consequence, we use language like "spiritual journey", or "destination" to describe our relationship, or hoped for relationship, with God.
What impact on your perspective would it have to eliminate all reference to God as distinct from us/the world and to consider oneness as a current, and constant, state?
Thanks for any thoughts
David

As far as language: in 'Bible speak' at Zephaniah 3 v 9 it mentions God's people would speak a 'pure language'......

Where in Scripture does language make God separate....