Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Hi
08-06-2013, 09:33 AM
Hi
My username comes from the bible John 1 vs 1-17, although I am also John.
Based in the UK I have been studying the Bible, Mythology and Science for the last 3 years and would like to share what I have found, although working on my own I feel I have had a certain amount of divine guidance.
I have been seeking the ultimate truth. Hopefully the spiritual world is less arrogant, pre-judgemental and more open minded than the scientific world.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-06-2013, 10:01 AM (This post was last modified: 08-06-2013 10:03 AM by EqualAtheist.)
RE: Hi
How can the scientific world be arrogant, judgmental, or close minded?

edit....

Oh, and welcome to the forum.

If everyone was thinking the same thing, then no one would be thinking at all.
08-06-2013, 10:06 AM
(08-06-2013 10:01 AM)EqualAtheist Wrote:  How can the scientific world be arrogant, judgmental, or close minded?

Because it's made up of people. I've certainly met people working or training as scientists who are all three of those things. John's perhaps generalising a bit here, but what he's saying isn't impossible.
08-06-2013, 10:08 AM
(08-06-2013 10:06 AM)Painkiller Wrote:  
(08-06-2013 10:01 AM)EqualAtheist Wrote:  How can the scientific world be arrogant, judgmental, or close minded?

Because it's made up of people. I've certainly met people working or training as scientists who are all three of those things. John's perhaps generalising a bit here, but what he's saying isn't impossible.

So meaning the people who are a part of the scientific world, not the scientific world itself then?

08-06-2013, 10:12 AM
Come on, Equal! I'm pretty much the King Of Pedants, but that's a step too far even for me. When people talk about "the world of academia" or "the world of sport", they're talking about the people and the structures, systems they built. I think you know that.
08-06-2013, 10:15 AM