How do the Jews view the Messiah
03-12-2010, 01:31 PM
How do the Jews view the Messiah
How do the Jews view the Messiah?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-13-2010, 04:51 AM
RE: How do the Jews view the Messiah
I'm no expert, but I'm aware of a number of prophecies he was supposed to fulfill; build the third temple, gather the Jews back to the land of Israel, usher in eternal peace, spread the worship of God, and that he be of the House of David. That he would be born of a virgin, be a son of God, die for sins etc. were not part of the Jewish idea of the messiah.
As far as I am aware, the two views have virtually nothing in common.
03-13-2010, 07:01 PM
Quote:I'm no expert, but I'm aware of a number of prophecies he was supposed to fulfill; build the third temple, gather the Jews back to the land of Israel, usher in eternal peace, spread the worship of God, and that he be of the House of David. That he would be born of a virgin, be a son of God, die for sins etc. were not part of the Jewish idea of the messiah.
As far as I am aware, the two views have virtually nothing in common.

Right.

Christians claim Jesus fulfilled the Old Testament prophecies regarding the messiah. Jews claim the evidence amounts to mistranslations.

Christians claim Jesus was a descendant of King David, and Jews claim the virgin birth negates that possibility entirely because the relationship has to be shown on the father's side of the family.

If truth is one, it is not possible for something to be scientifically false and religiously true.

-Baha'u'llah
05-16-2010, 12:10 PM (This post was last modified: 05-16-2010 12:21 PM by Adhara.)
This seems like a good post to start on, so even though it's a little old, I'll share.

1. The Messiah will be a human man, who is of the tribe of Judah through the House of David, more specifically, through the line of Solomon -- on his biological father's side.

2. There is a potential Messiah born every generation.