Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Informed atheists who find christ?
05-08-2017, 11:25 PM (This post was last modified: 05-08-2017 11:28 PM by PeterPants.)
Informed atheists who find christ?
Does anyone know of a single remotely informed atheist who later became a christian?

I know of many christans who claim to have been atheists and claim that they have special knowledge that athiests are wrong, but they tend to espouse the most basic and frivolous apologetics, and clearly were never remotely knowledgable of counter arguments.

~~~

when we enter a discussion on matters of discordance, we should search for truth not victory, In this manner we always win, there are no losers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2017, 02:46 AM (This post was last modified: 05-09-2017 02:54 AM by clarence clutterbuck.)
RE: Informed atheists who find christ?
I have no personal experience of witnessing an atheist to Christian conversion, but I did watch a yukky video by Lee Strobel once where he related his conversion from atheism to Christianity. He presented himself as a hard nosed atheist and investigative journalist convinced by the evidence for Christ and portrayed his atheist self as a selfish immoral person who was nasty to his wife and kids. This struck me as resembling a Christian fundamentalist God's Not Dead style caricature cliche of what they think atheists must be like. I formed the opinion that Lee Strobel's pre-conversion self was probably that of a Christian theist in denial and a pseudo-atheist. He can't have been a very hard nosed journo either or he'd be concerned about the poor evidence for miracles, the resurrection, angels, immortal souls and all the rest of it.