Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 4 Average
What is Hinduism?
09-23-2009, 02:21 AM
What is Hinduism?
What the title says tell me,
tell me I implore!

I'm a Researcher studying world religions and I want to know about Hinduism.

Are all Hindu Polytheist or are some of you more Monotheist.
What values and beliefs do you have. How do you worship your God/Gods.

I'm a Christian trying to be open minded so please some one who knows a lot about your faith tell me about it in your own words.

"I'm ignorant and in my ignorance have I raised sword against my brothers. Have pity on me for I've fallen. For it will take your help to get back up. Once I'm to my feet I shall spread my wings and repent in the name of my father."
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2009, 04:45 AM
RE: What is Hinduism?
Rather than repeat myself, I've answered a couple of your questions inother threads. Have a look at

http://www.religionforums.org/thread-1183-page-2.html

and the one on Hindu idols in this section.

I know you were addressing Hindus, but sadly we don't have many here at present. I think there are two lurking, but they don't post very often.
09-24-2009, 05:46 AM
Hinduism cannot be neatly slotted into any particular belief system. Unlike other religions, Hinduism is a way of life, a Dharma, that is, the law that governs all action. It has its own beliefs, traditions, advanced system of ethics, meaningful rituals, philosophy and theology. The religious tradition of Hinduism is solely responsible for the creation of such original concepts and practices as Yoga, Ayurveda, Vastu, Jyotish, Yajna, Puja, Tantra, Vedanta, Karma, etc.
12-22-2009, 10:00 AM (This post was last modified: 12-22-2009 10:51 AM by wisdom007.)
Sanathan means enternal and Dharma means laws .
the enternal laws are the devine
words of the god.The HINDU DARMA is the older of all
religions and is the first religion of mankind.

Hindu dharma is the mother of all religions in the world.